h1

For Y’ur Height Only.1981.Eddie Nicart

November.9.2009

Weng Weng wearing uhm...

I never thought, in this decade, that we haven’t made any cult films. I’ve been stuck with the idea that only our foreign counterparts can provide us with the cult religion. I’ve already set my eyes on the best but I wasn’t fully aware, that unknown to my generation, that there have been cult films made in the seventies and the early eighties.

Presenting our very own double zero, Weng-weng, in his formidable film For Y’ur Height Only.

I was pestering my mom when I finally got a copy to watch the film. She didn’t budge but I watched it anyway. And yes, the film is B-movie grade at its best.

I don’t know if I have to give the synopsis of the film. Basically, this is just a copycat of your ordinary James Bond film. He’s the man with the million gadgets, with a single mission of defeating all the villains and, to get the girl.

This film gives us a tagline of ‘Bigger than Goldfinger’s Finger – Bigger Than Thunderball’s (. . . . . . .)’ and a handful of reviews in IMDB such as:

Petite, like a potato. Author: tiptonm from Missouri

If you don’t like this movie you’ve got a sick problem with your head. Weng Weng is a lover, fighter and master spy. This movie got me off of hard drugs thanks to it’s uplifting message that the lava flows hotter in the Phillipines, Praise the lord. They should have come out with more of these movies. The fight scenes are masterful and the dubbed in dialogue can’t be beat. Both of my thumbs up.

Or:

That Weng Weng is in league with Lucifer! Author: reverendtom from Santa Cruz, CA

This is easily one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Weng Weng is agent 00, and he’s two foot 9″. From the opening “montage” of him running around looking cool to the extreme shocker/twist ending, this film had me roaring with laughter and cheering on Weng Weng as he battles the Crime Syndicate and Mr. Giant. There are endless scenes of Weng Weng looking around and then sneaking up on people and then killing them. And he’s ruthless. He laughs and smiles after killing bad guys. The bad guys are great, too. “All forces of good are our sworn enemies,” one says at one point. There is something about this movie, and I can’t really put my finger on it, but its really a magical film. One that should be enjoyed by all.

I know, I know, I know I should be the one giving the review but at least I’m proud, somehow that we have a cult film known worldwide. There are a lot of reviews in the Internet but trust me on this one, watch the film and don’t read the reviews.

Now, wouldn’t it be nice if Quentin Tarantino saw this film?

Leave a Reply

