h1

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel.2009.Betty Thomas

January.9.2010

I know that this film shouldn’t be found on this site. I assure you that this is not a hate site. I just know that there are other films out there more worthy than this film. But, and that’s a big one there, the Filipino pride is always aching to be heard and with a small country like ours, we really do want to gain the same status as the first world countries, even if it is just for the popularity.

Before anything else, I have to say that the story for this one is quite better than the first. Though, you can still say that this is one of those date movies where you really don’t go to the movies to watch a film, if you know what I mean. And for the parent, I assure you that your kids would enjoy this. Who wouldn’t be endeared by high-pitched voices singing Single Ladies with matching visual choreographed CGI?

Now, there is a possibility for a Chipmunks III, I do hope to get a livelier Jason Lee in that film, in case. Then, a small kudos to the principal played by Wendie Malick and the new guardian of the chipmunks played by Zachary Levi.

And moving on to why I included this film in this site: the scenes might not go over ten or even minutes but seeing our fellow Pinoy, Charice Pempengco on a mainstream film, is still a proud moment for all of us. I initially thought, and I didn’t do a research for this one, that she’s going to do the voicing for one of the chipettes’ songs. I was wrong. I was surprised when she was one of those singers who performed. The funny thing is she had a lot of camera time due to her petite height.

Lastly, there was also a Filipino group who had their talents seen on the film. The Quest Crew, from Randy Jackson’s Best Dance Crew, has a few Filipino members in that group. And they’ve strutted; I know the word is passé, their moves during the talent show.

Now, to define the Filipino pride, we actually waited for Charice Pempengco’s name when the credits were up. And it was impressive that her name came up at the early middle part of the credits.

Leave a Reply

