h1

Targ’s picks: Golden Globes 2010.

January.17.2010

I have been extremely busy with stuff lately and I almost forgot that the Golden Globes is just hours away. I haven’t had the chance to look much with the nominees and to my surprise I was able to watch around fifty percent of the given nominated films that also includes the ones under the best actor, best actress, and other categories (oh you already get it).

Without further adieu, here are my picks (I might not be able to give out the real winners but I’m sticking with who I think should win.) I am going on a different route once the Oscar nominees are announced.

Best Motion Picture – Drama
Avatar (2009)
The Hurt Locker (2008)
Inglourious Basterds (2009)
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)
Up in the Air (2009/I)

This is actually a hard choice for me; having Avatar doing really big in a blockbuster sort of way, but not critically. Then, I just don’t like the Hurt Locker. I haven’t seen Up In The Air and Inglourious Basterds lead more on the action genre, for me. So, there’s a big possibility that Precious would take this one. I still want Inglourious Basterds to win though.

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
(500) Days of Summer (2009)
The Hangover (2009)
It’s Complicated (2009)
Julie & Julia (2009)
Nine (2009)

I’m thinking that Julie & Julia is not strong contender. I haven’t seen It’s Complicated and Nine but I’m hearing a lot of good reviews with Nine. I’m lost between The Hangover and a love-hate relationship with (500) Days of Summer. I want (500) Days of Summer to win.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama
Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart (2009)
George Clooney for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Colin Firth for A Single Man (2009)
Morgan Freeman for Invictus (2009)
Tobey Maguire for Brothers (2009/I)

I’ve only seen Invictus and Morgan Freeman didn’t really bring the film. I was hoping Matt Damon would get the Best Actor nod. I’m thinking Morgan was nominated due to him being Nelson Mandela in the film. I have no sure picks for this one. I’m guessing pretty boy George Clooney would get this award.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama
Emily Blunt for The Young Victoria (2009)
Sandra Bullock for The Blind Side (2009)
Helen Mirren for The Last Station (2009)
Carey Mulligan for An Education (2009)
Gabourey ‘Gabby’ Sidibe for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

I haven’t seen The Young Victoria and The Last Station yet. I know Carey Mulligan is good in An Education; I love this film by the way. But it is a clear match between Sandra Bullock and Gabby Sidibe. I’m picking Gabby for this one.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Matt Damon for The Informant! (2009)
Daniel Day-Lewis for Nine (2009)
Robert Downey Jr. for Sherlock Holmes (2009)
Joseph Gordon-Levitt for (500) Days of Summer (2009)
Michael Stuhlbarg for A Serious Man (2009)

I have only seen (500) Days Of Summer and boy, he has a lot of good competition here. I’m choosing Robert Downey Jr. just because.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Sandra Bullock for The Proposal (2009/I)
Marion Cotillard for Nine (2009)
Julia Roberts for Duplicity (2009)
Meryl Streep for It’s Complicated (2009)
Meryl Streep for Julie & Julia (2009)

The problem in this category for Meryl Streep is that the votes might get lost for her nomination. And since that is the case, there is a strong possibility that Sandra might win this one. Though I haven’t seen Nine and Julia is not that good, for me, in Duplicity. I do want Meryl to win for Julie & Julia though.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Matt Damon for Invictus (2009)
Woody Harrelson for The Messenger (2009/I)
Christopher Plummer for The Last Station (2009)
Stanley Tucci for The Lovely Bones (2009)
Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds (2009)

I’ve seen The Messenger and I do think Woody is a strong contender for this category; though Matt is also good as the rugby leader.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Penélope Cruz for Nine (2009)
Vera Farmiga for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Anna Kendrick for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Mo’Nique for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)
Julianne Moore for A Single Man (2009)

Mo’Nique is a strong contender; just because drama win awards.

Best Director – Motion Picture
Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker (2008)
James Cameron for Avatar (2009)
Clint Eastwood for Invictus (2009)
Jason Reitman for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds (2009)

I want Inglourious Basterds to win. I want to see Quentin say his speech. I don’t want to see James Cameron boast his accomplishments. Please please please give this one to the Basterds.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture
District 9 (2009): Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell
The Hurt Locker (2008): Mark Boal
Inglourious Basterds (2009): Quentin Tarantino
It’s Complicated (2009): Nancy Meyers
Up in the Air (2009/I): Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner

For me, District 9 outshines the rest of the competition. I find The Hurt Locker just simply stupid. Even if Inglourious took years, I’m still going for the shrimps.

Best Original Song – Motion Picture
Avatar (2009): James Horner, Simon Franglen, Kuk Harrell(“I See You”)
Brothers (2009/I): U2, Bono(“Winter”)
Crazy Heart (2009): T-Bone Burnett, Ryan Bingham(“The Weary Kind”)
Everybody’s Fine (2009): Paul McCartney(“(I Want To) Come Home”)
Nine (2009): Maury Yeston(“Cinema Italiano”)

The mostly unpopular songs are often a win in this category. Anyway, I’m making a wild guess, a win for Avatar.

Best Original Score – Motion Picture
Avatar (2009): James Horner
The Informant! (2009): Marvin Hamlisch
A Single Man (2009): Abel Korzeniowski
Up (2009): Michael Giacchino
Where the Wild Things Are (2009): Carter Burwell, Karen Orzolek

I haven’t seen The Informant and A Single Man. I prefer the music of Where The Wild Things Are over Avatar and Up.

Best Animated Film
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs (2009)
Coraline (2009)
Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)
The Princess and the Frog (2009)
Up (2009)

I know Up is a very very very strong contender and I just want Coraline or Fantastic Mr. Fox to win.

Best Foreign Language Film
Los abrazos rotos [Broken Embraces] (2009)
Baarìa (2009)
Das weisse Band – Eine deutsche Kindergeschichte [The White Ribbon] (2009)
La nana [The Maid] (2009)
Un prophète [A Prophet] (2009)

I am not really keen on what film wins this category. I’m just interested on all the films nominated; I want to watch them all. Yes, like Pokemon. I’ve been hearing The White Ribbon lately, probably due to its Cannes showing. So, that’s my priority on my viewing list.

2 comments

  1. Since you don’t have a choice for Best Actor, I’ll pimp Colin Firth to you.


  2. sige sige! =)



Leave a Reply

