h1

T500FC, 480th: Scooby-Doo! Camp Scare (Ethan Spaulding, 2010)

February.24.2011

I am an honest to goodness Scooby Doo fan since I started my love for animation. Whenever I check out the films in video stores, I always take a glance at the animation genre and I automatically get Scooby Doo titles. I’ve been doing this for a while as I also enjoyed the other direct to video films, Scooby Doo and the Samurai Sword and Scooby Doo! Abracadabra-Doo. It gives me an entitlement of big nostalgia despite my age and something soothing to the brain in this world of films.

The story takes place in a camp which is quite common for the animated genre since the experiences of the American children usually takes place in such. Fred goes back to his old summer camp, the Scooby gang, obviously, goes with him and the craziness takes place, which is often the plot of the series, with spooky and supernatural incidences happen all throughout the camp.

One thing I noticed with the Scooby Doo films is the idea of a slight security for the viewer. That everything is going to be ok in the end, with the child in me knowing it and despite that you enjoy it with its Holmes-ish approach. The mystery is quite easy for this one and I opted not to use my mind for such. I just enjoyed the film.

Matthew Lillard, who was Shaggy in the live action Scooby Doo films that came out in 2002, still provided the voices for Shaggy Rogers in this film. It was quite a time when we last saw him and it was good to hear his voice even if we can’t see him live. Ethan Spaulding, the director, is an effective director for this film too. No wonder he provided good direction for the Avatar: The Last Airbender, the television series.

Scooby Doo always has a place in my heart that I will forever nourish, mind that it is in the animation genre; one can still enjoy such piece even if they are in their thirties or in their forties. It is always timeless with the obvious reason that it always provides a light mystery, which makes it better since it can also be a parent-child bonding moment event for just a while.

Leave a Reply

