h1

T500FC, 446th: Gnomeo And Juliet (Kelly Asbury, 2011)

March.14.2011

An all-star animated film that features the voices of James Mcavoy, Emily Blunt, Michael Caine, Jason Statham, Maggie Smith, Patrick Stewart, and Hulk Hogan. It also boasts the music of Lady Gaga and Elton John. Kelly Asbury directs this film. The same person who directed Spirit: Stallion Of The Cimarron and Shrek 2. It all boils down to a movie starring a lot of Smurf-like creatures called garden gnomes, reprising one of William Shakespeare’s works.

With the title as the main giveaway for the film’s story, Gnomeo And Juliet is a little bit more than that. To avoid confusion, as to the use of the surnames Montague and Capulet, the generic names of the clans end up with just the Red and the Blue. The Blue clan gives us Gnomeo and the other one, vice versa. Basically, aside from the main story ala Romeo and Juliet, the gnomes have two important things in their area. The first one is the beautification of the garden, since they are gnomes and the other having a lawnmower competition. And every thing is always not well since the two groups just tend to fight almost all of their lives.

The first time I saw the poster of this film in the Internet, I was dissatisfied in all levels. I was dismayed with the idea. I’m sure a lot of people saw this film, gross revenue of one hundred and thirty-three million is big, and maybe you have to add the fact that kids did watch this movie. But something inside me was saying that this film might come out as corny as it looks.

I was right. Though critics found it a little bit above the median, I found myself thinking, why am I watching such. Though I think Hollywood has the right to create such but for me it looked like an under-whelming idea coming from the brainstorm-ers, whoever they are. Or maybe it was just me un-liking this film.

Though there are still good points in the film, one of which is the punch lines used in most scenes. They were effective, I think.

I have to admit that I have to watch more of these films. I know if I procreate kids, I have to withstand such animation in the future and I have to endure this film, in case the kid wants to watch this movie over and over again. So, yeah, this is a family fun film, even if looking at the gnomes as the main protagonists looked weird.

Leave a Reply

