h1

T500FC, 438th: Gulliver’s Travels (Rob Letterman, 2010)

March.16.2011

The last time I truly enjoyed a Jack Black film was the non-mainstream movie-geek film Be Kind Rewind. I never saw myself laughing when I saw Year One and Tropic Thunder clearly showcase RDJ and Stiller’s talents. So I was kind of hesitant before trying to watch this film. It might suck, so I had to lower my expectations.

With the obvious retelling of the children’s classic, the film started to embark on Black’s journey as a travel journalist. With Amanda Peet one of the bosses in the company, he starts to regurgitate his stagnant job status, as stated in an earlier scene where the newly hired employee under him changed to be his boss at the end of the day. He goes to the Bermuda Triangle and in an instant; he enters the world of Lilliput. And he tries to survive in the new world that he is in, trying to find a way to get out of the said place.

Despite the film having a set of known Hollywood actors, with the likes of Emily Blunt and Jason Segel, it felt that the movie failed to surprise us being a hit comedy. I think it was best for Rob Letterman, the director, to stick with the animation genre. He failed to bring out the fun in the film, as I was kind of hoping that Black gives me a repeat performance to at least a caliber of his movie such as The School Of Rock.

Maybe the film didn’t push it limits and maybe the director played it safe mainly because it was shown during Christmas and everybody knows that people will watch anything during the holidays, thus the earnings of this film was doubled by its budget. I remember I caught myself watching one of the chipmunk films and I found myself wondering why I am watching such film on the big screen. I was just lucky I saw it for free.

It was just sad since the movie looked promising. A friend even told me that I might like this movie due to the lame and corny puns, but it didn’t go there for me. Maybe it was just a Jack Black movie all along. I was sort of expecting a crude Jason Segel or a more daring Amanda Peet.

It all ends up with this film having the generic approach to the family fun experience. Sometimes it wouldn’t hurt if they would at least engage the kids from time to time or even do something campy. Campy most of the time is good and big production made films usually is just a waste of time. Though the sort of old Black is in here and is still worth it, somehow.

Leave a Reply

