h1

T500FC, 434th: Wavelength (Michael Snow, 1967)

March.17.2011

This is probably one of the few times in this blog where I try to understand what a film is and at the same time on what is should write in paper, or in this case, a write-up. Wavelength is an experimental film directed by Michael Snow who gained fame in the underground and art houses. If you’re planning to watch this, make sure you are equipped with an extra forty-five minutes of your time.

I deliberately did a short research on this film and checked what I just experienced. This movie is an example of a structural film. As much as I’d like to explain much of what it means, I’d rather leave it to the person who would like to try and watch this, as I am not a master of the subject.

This forty-five minute film basically gives us a story of a woman situated inside a room, probably an apartment. The movie uses a still camera and it just sits there while showing different types of what you usually in the screen which features different colors and different types of, probably, style of lenses using a camera.

I wouldn’t say that I fully understand the film itself. It was, from what I read, an increased complexity in itself. I know I am just a casual viewer of films and I have to say that it didn’t cater to my liking. If it did, I could’ve given different viewpoints of films, not just for this write-up, but also for all the entries that you can see in this website as I try to cater everyone what positive cinema is.

I know it would be hard for me to show this to anyone I know and what I can do is to call out those viewers with heightened sense of the cinema, the people whose art in their lives that clearly envelopes them would appreciate this film. Probably, if I am a film student, I’d understand what just took place but for now, I’d rather leave this film to the experts.

Leave a Reply

