h1

T500FC, 419th: Little Fockers (Paul Weitz, 2010)

March.24.2011

A part three of a movie franchise, or the second sequel if you are anal, is such a dangerous move for a production company especially if you knew that its sequel sucked in one way or another, or let’s say if the movie wasn’t a blockbuster at all. Much more if everybody knows that they just want to make a milking cow out of the franchise, chances are the film will suck, and the percentage of a film being as competent as the first movie might be small. Little Fockers thrived to be the film that mattered, as the critics railroaded it to dust.

As silly as it is, Robert De Niro informs Ben Stiller that he is going to be the head father of the whole family; it includes the family of Stiller and the wife. With the usual take for this franchise, Stiller is scrutinized by De Niro if he can be the person that De Niro wants him to be; with Owen Wilson trying to foil the plans of De Niro to Stiller, unknowingly of course. It also includes the further development of the characters of the franchise, with the children of Stiller trying out to enter a private school.

I enjoyed this film. As much as I was hesitant to watch it, and as the movie progresses while I was watching it, I will definitely say that I enjoyed it. I know the second outing of the Focker franchise was merely forgettable in a sense that it felt like it was just created for money, which still tells me that this movie would still have that same sentiment.

Critics hated this film, probably they were expecting too much from the franchise. It was probably one of those films that looked like the Police Academy franchise where every scene in its sequels was near to tiring. I thought I would experience it in this film, I didn’t. Maybe it lowered my expectations in a sense that I just wanted to take a rest from everything and to TRY to enjoy a film, which is what is usually done by millions of viewers worldwide.

Though the progress of the relationship of Stiller and De Niro is quite off-handed, where the first two clearly states that they oppose each other, it felt dumb when it turned to that once again. And probably the happier part was when they were trying to be agreeable that almost failed miserably. Almost.

Please don’t blame me if I liked this film. The inclusion of a useless Jessica Alba in the film was still worth watching. It feels that she was a bad version of Anna Faris’ character in The House Bunny. I think I said it already; this film is enjoyable if you’d just see it as a continuation of the franchise, no expectations needed.

Leave a Reply

