h1

T500FC, 411th: Hard Luck (Edward F. Cline, Buster Keaton, 1921)

March.26.2011

I have often wondered on how Buster Keaton’s life would have been before. He manages to create movies that best describe his personality or character according to what you initially see whenever you watch his films. Personally, Hard Luck seems an easy movie for him. As the title goes, it can easily be detected on where this short film is heading, though it is quite incoherent at times, I believe it still important in Buster Keaton’s filmography.

This twenty-two minute short film shot in the early nineteen twenties is about a man, played by Keaton, who decides to finish his own life, probably due to depression. With his hard luck, he escapes death and turns up in an expedition. After the different sceneries and twists and turns, he ends up to something quite unusual and unexpected.

According to Wikipedia, the supposed critical final scene of this short film has been missing for ages. Lucky for the viewers, it was found recently in Russia, sort of, where according to Keaton, it was one of the funniest finale ever created. I have to agree with his words though; it was quite funny if you knew what the spoiler was.

Though, as much as I wanted to see this short film as one of his best, it was quite unwatchable for me in a sense that its predictability was way overboard that I didn’t even bother to focus myself if the copy that I am watching was the one that gave the awesome ending. And with that, it feels that I have to watch it again. I mean, I am only going to lose twenty-two minutes of my time.

This is the third of the Keaton mini-marathon that I watched during this day. And as said, it was probably the least liked. I’d like to give it another go but I think I have to watch it after a few months to keep the idea fresh.

Leave a Reply

