h1

T500FC, 416th: The Jungle Book (Wolfgang Reitherman, 1967)

March.26.2011

The Jungle Book is the nineteenth animated film by Walt Disney, just right after The Sword In The Stone and before The Aristocats. You can really say that at that time, Walt Disney can almost do anything despite having a big time difference between this film and The Sword In The Stone, around four years to be exact. This has often been overlooked by parents since it doesn’t involve the safe formula used by Disney, the ones that include Disney princesses. And this one addresses the life in the forest, much like those Tarzan tv shows and movies created before.

It starts off as a black panther in the forest finds a baby. The panther brings the baby to family of wolves, hoping that they would take care of him, which they did. Ten years after, a tiger goes back to their territory and the wolves and the panther are alerted that the tiger would eat him. So, the panther started to have a journey with the boy and bring him to a human settlement, meeting interesting animals along the way.

As much as I would like to say that I didn’t enjoy this film, a voice at the back of my mind is saying that I enjoyed it but I cannot accept it. I grew up watching Disney animated films; it ranges from almost all of the decades they had a hand in though I have to exclude the latter half of the nineties since I was sort of reached my adulthood already. And with that explanation, I may have missed watching The Jungle Book when I was still young, I could’ve seen it but there’s no staying power. Unlike the usual films, which featured revered songs, this film did not have it, or if it has it, it didn’t gather any local attention during its time.

But I kept hearing about this film year after year and right now, the need for this movie is not that much since it doesn’t go well to my liking. I was sort of wrong when I saw it; I enjoyed the funny and fuzzy characters and definitely enjoyed the take on the vultures that looked exactly like those mop-top boys that swept the whole world during the sixties and the seventies.

Probably, I have to take note of this film; thank God I have a copy. I will certainly make my child watch this film. It is still fun despite its almost five decade age. It has the beautiful old-school Walt Disney theme. And it has that adventure perfect for the child.

Leave a Reply

