h1

T500FC, 406th: 2 Ou 3 Choses Que Je Sais D’elle [2 Or 3 Things I Know About Her] (Jean-Luc Godard, 1967)

March.28.2011

This film gives two things to the viewer, a radical aspect of one’s ideas and a sense of nationalism minus the consumerism provided by the advertisers. That was what Jean-Luc Godard tried to express when he created this film; where it was just created to express one’s ideas and it doesn’t matter if it has no definite story behind on what the movie was saying; it was just a form of media where he wanted to pass the boundaries of traditional storytelling.

A movie set in the lives of prostitutes; it gives us the story of a woman who takes care of call girls. Since the movie doesn’t really on a straightforward story, it mainly focuses on the so-called lives of the prostitutes plus the different scenes where they were working. The whole story runs for a whole day and the movie basically gives us the idea of how the lives of these prostitutes are.

As much as I would want to say that I understood the film, it failed me in a sense where I got lost while watching it as a whole. And with that, I did a little bit of research on why Godard created this film. It was implied that the movie is a symbolism of consumerism. If everything is possible to sell, then why not the human body as perceived in the film. In a sense, if the movie provided a little bit of animation, he probably would’ve included the souls of the people sold to the devil.

Though it felt that the radical-ism didn’t manage to pass through me, probably it has something to do with the setting and for me, I didn’t get it. Since the hate for the Americans played a big part on why this film is created, or making it a start of hate for the director’s view of America.

It took me a while to get why the film was titled as such. And it was cleverly said despite its long title. It might have a bit judgmental though on what it was trying to say, but still, I get it. I can’t say that I appreciate this movie, since I remember I liked Breathless in a way, I’d rather not suggest this for the casual viewer. It may work if you are trying to do a historical research for the original French New Wave cinema.

Leave a Reply

